Book Review: Everyday Handmade + Giveaway!

Today, we are happy to have a guest post from Elizabeth at Inspire Me Grey. She is here to review a new sewing book and show off her projects, plus we also have a giveaway courtesy of the book’s publisher, Martingale & Co. (Enter with your comment at the end of this post.) Take it away, Elizabeth!

Everyday Handmade: 22 Practical Projects for the Modern Sewist by Cassie Barden and Adrienne Smitke (Martingale) is a promising addition to any modern sewist’s craft library. Whether you’re looking for a small, simple project to give you a break from that quilt you’ve been slaving over or you’re in the mood to create something featuring some favorite fabrics from your stash, Everyday Handmade is likely to please.

Everyday Handmade book contents

Beginner-level projects include a simple tote bag decorated with fabric-covered buttons, pieced coasters and potholders, and a sewing set that includes a pincushion and needle book.

Everyday Handmade book - Collector's Item Tote Bag
The instructions and illustrations are clear enough, though, that even projects that seem more intimidating, like the full-fledged messenger bag with pockets and a laptop compartment, are easy to follow.

In contrast to many sewing craft books that focus on one material (felt, scraps of quilting cottons, upcycled fabrics), authors Barden and Smitke challenge sewists to explore working with a variety of materials. Projects make the most of selvages, wool felt, linen, canvas, interfacing, fusible fleece, and zippers.

Everyday Handmade book - e-Reader cover

 

My Projects

When I was studying the 22 projects in Everyday Handmade and trying to decide which one to make, the Literary Genius e-Reader Cover caught my attention. I received a Kindle as a birthday gift only a week after I won this book at a quilting retreat, so the timing was perfect.

Online Quilting Class

Before I started, I noticed that the finished size (5 1/2” by 8 1/2″) was going to be bigger than my Kindle and therefore wouldn’t provide the intended protection. The authors note in the project instructions that they have included measurements for two e-readers, but unfortunately both were bigger than mine, so I decided to reduce the cutting measurements and make a practice cover first to check the sizing.

Fast forward through recalculations and two practice covers and I was finally ready to proceed with my final fabric choices. I used interfacing on all my quilting cottons to give them a bit more heft, and at the last minute I decided to also supplement the outer layer of the cover with fusible fleece to better protect my Kindle.

I’m happy with how the final product turned out. Although there are slight changes I would make if I were to make this again, it holds my Kindle snugly and provides sufficient protection.

One other project that I tried from Everyday Handmade is the Petunia Hedgehog Pincushion. Petunia is part of a three-piece sewing set, along with a stump-shaped needle book and notions pouch. To satisfy a Woodlands theme for an ornament challenge that’s happening on my blog, I turned Petunia into a soft ornament by simple eliminating the base and sewing both sides of the body together all the way around.

April ornament: Hedgehog

Templates are included for the tree stump parts as well as all Petunia’s parts, and I found it very easy to trace them using freezer paper and then transfer and cut the shapes out of craft felt. At the back of the book Barden and Smitke include simple instructions for techniques used in the projects, including the French knots and blanket stitch on Petunia. Even when you know how to execute simple embroidery like this, if your memory is anything like mine you know it’s helpful to have a refresher on hand.

I’m pleased with the range of projects in Everyday Handmade, and I like the look and feel of Barden’s and Smitke’s designs. Whether you’re making a little something for yourself or sewing up a personalized gift for a friend, you’ll find something to try in this book.


Giveaway!

Martingale & Co. is giving one lucky Craft Buds reader the chance to win a $30 gift certificate to their shop, good for books, e-books or patterns. Enter to win by:

  1. Leave a comment on this post. You can tell us if you use an e-reader or if you prefer paper books. (one entry)
  2. Subscribe to Martingale’s Stitch This! newsletter (for free patterns, sale offers, tips and tricks) and leave a second comment telling us you did! (one entry)

This giveaway is open worldwide and we’ll choose one lucky winner via Random.org on Wednesday, May 2, 2012.

Out of 158 comments, the winner is #6 Jeanne, who said:

“I do have a Kindle and I love it for casual reading but it isn’t color so I like my quilt and craft books in pulp. I do love that Kindle cover and the tote with all the covered buttons.  If I win, I know what will be first to make! Thanks for the chance.”

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Are you looking to start your own craft blog? Maybe you're ready to upgrade to a self-hosted Wordpress blog. After trying other hosting companies, Craft Buds proudly uses Bluehost (affiliate link) for all of our hosting needs. It's super reliable, a great value (just a few dollars a month!) and easy to install Wordpress with one click. Get started in just 5 minutes or less!

  160 comments for “Book Review: Everyday Handmade + Giveaway!

  1. Debbie Constable
    April 25, 2012 at 6:41 am

    I don’t own an e-reader … yet! I hope Santa brings me one! Until then … I’m a paper person!

  2. Debbie Constable
    April 25, 2012 at 6:41 am

    I signed up to receive the newsletter! Thanks for the nice giveaway!

  3. Mhairi
    April 25, 2012 at 6:59 am

    I don’t have an e-reader so I use paper only at this stage. I think for patterns and craft stuff I will always prefer paper but other books I think I will eventually learn to like the e-reader style.
    I love the ladybird purse in the book. Would love to make this for me and a friend.

  4. maribeth
    April 25, 2012 at 6:59 am

    I have a nook and that cover would be great for it!

  5. Mhairi
    April 25, 2012 at 7:04 am

    I am a subscriber to the Martingale newsletter.

  6. Christy
    April 25, 2012 at 7:28 am

    I don’t have an e-reader, but I wouldn’t mind using one. For now, I read paper.

  7. Maria Kievit
    April 25, 2012 at 7:38 am

    I like to read a real book. Don’t have a kindle either. Thanks for the chance to win!

  8. Maria Kievit
    April 25, 2012 at 7:40 am

    Just added my email to the Martingale Stitch This: newsletter. Thanks for the giveaway.

  9. April 25, 2012 at 7:57 am

    I have a Nook but I also have shelves fulllll of books! haha I love them both for very different reasons :)

  10. April 25, 2012 at 8:04 am

    I love my kindle. I love the fact I always have another 750 books to read. I love the fact I can take my patterns everywhere with me. I still love real books when it comes to crafting. I think you need a physical book for that.

  11. Becky Greene
    April 25, 2012 at 9:17 am

    I spent seven years as a school librarian so, of course, I love actual books! However, I also have a Kindle and find it allows me to read much more often because I usually have it with me for unexpected delays. Print and digital both have a valid place in my life!

  12. Becky Greene
    April 25, 2012 at 9:18 am

    I subscribed to the Stitch This newsletter. Thanks for the chance to win!

  13. April 25, 2012 at 9:24 am

    I have an e-reader but much prefer paper books for crafts. My e-reader is black and white so some of the inspiration and excitement of completing one of the projects in the book seems to get lost when in black and white…;)

  14. April 25, 2012 at 9:52 am

    I don’t have an ereader yet…but I’m trying to convince my husband I need one. :) I’ve been looking at this book and would LOVE to win one. Wonderful giveaway! :)

  15. April 25, 2012 at 9:53 am

    I subscribe to Martingale’s newsletter. :)

  16. April 25, 2012 at 10:37 am

    I’d love to try an e-reader.

  17. April 25, 2012 at 10:38 am

    I subscribed to the newsletter. :) Thanks for the chance.

  18. April 25, 2012 at 11:00 am

    I have a nook, but i also love paper books too. i like the smell of brand new paper books. Am i the only one that like that? lol

  19. April 25, 2012 at 11:00 am

    i signed up for the newsletter!

  20. April 25, 2012 at 11:23 am

    Looks like a great book! I prefer actual books but I actually do most of my reading on an e-reader.

  21. LauraH
    April 25, 2012 at 11:27 am

    I like the feel of “real” books best! This book looks like a good one!

  22. LauraH
    April 25, 2012 at 11:27 am

    I subscribed also!

  23. maria
    April 25, 2012 at 11:36 am

    I prefer paper when it comes to crafting books.

  24. maria
    April 25, 2012 at 11:37 am

    I follow the newsletter

  25. andie
    April 25, 2012 at 11:47 am

    I have an e-reader and my sister has been laughing at my makeshift cover, a leftover passport and document folder. this inspires me to craft something more appropriate. Hi Liz…like your review.

  26. April 25, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    I don’t have an e-reader, but I do read some on my smartphone. Kind of like an e-Reader I guess, right?! 😉 Though I LOVE books in their real form! I don’t always have time to read them all, but I could say I am a collector of them. :) That book looks great! What a great giveaway! thanks!

  27. Erin B
    April 25, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    I love paper books and can’t imagine not having them!

  28. April 25, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    I received a Kindle for Christmas, and I love it! I never thought I’d be into an e-Reader.. I read all the time and I love to see my shelves of beloved books. But I must confess that I love the ease of instant download, and being able to receive much coveted titles the day they’re released.

    The only thing I don’t love is the sometimes crazy prices. I can’t understand how ebooks can occasionally be up to twice the price of the paperback version (on Amazon, no less!) and I’ll refuse to buy books (even if I want them really badly!) if I think they’re too expensive in digital form. If it’s cheaper to buy a paperback then that’s what I’ll have, thank you very much!

  29. Erin B
    April 25, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    I signed up for the Stitch This! newsletter. Thanks for the giveaway!

  30. April 25, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    I don’t own an e-reader; I like having actual books. I just made my current hardcover a cloth cover, though! :>

  31. KJ
    April 25, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    What a great contest. Thank you. I am still a standard paper book kinda gal. The reviewed book looks like it would be fun.

  32. Julie
    April 25, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    Paper all the way!

  33. Ann
    April 25, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Great book! Yes I am still a paper copy kinda girl.

  34. April 25, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    I prefer real books! Thanks for the chance!

  35. Kathrynn
    April 25, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    I don’t have an e-reader, hopefully I’ll get one for my birthday, so I read books.

  36. Kathrynn
    April 25, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    I signed up for the Stitch This! newsletter

  37. Gill
    April 25, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    I don’t have an e-reader but this looks a great book!

  38. Gill
    April 25, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    I get the Stitch This newsletter!

  39. April 25, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    I don’t have an e-reader. I read books all the time.

  40. April 25, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    I already get the Stitch This newsletter. Thanks!

  41. Molly P
    April 25, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    What a great book. I really like the variety of materials used in the different projects. I have an e-reader, but I also love the smell and feel of a good ‘ol hardback library book. Thanks for the review!

  42. April 25, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Looks like a great book! I have a Nook but still love paper books. Thanks for the chance.

  43. April 25, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    I’ve subscribed to their newsletter (thanks for the link)!

  44. Deb
    April 25, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    I prefer paper books – though lugging them on vacation is something of a nuisance. And I buy most of my books used.

  45. Annie
    April 25, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    I own an e-reader, and work in a library, so I’m a big fan of both digital and paper books. I’m a fan of anything that gets people to READ!!! LOL!

  46. April 25, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    I generally prefer a hard copy book, although I will occasionally read books or magazines on my laptop. Thanks for the chance!

  47. April 25, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    I read on my iPad and love it! The only exception, sewing books, I much prefer them in paper! Thanks for the giveaway.

  48. April 25, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    I don’t have an e-reader, so I am definitely a traditional paper girl!

  49. April 25, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    I subscribed to the newsletter!

  50. April 25, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I love a classic paperback to read in bed, but when I’m reading on the sofa, I use an e-reader!

  51. April 25, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    I use an Kindle and am about to add the Kindle Fire for crafty kinds of books!

  52. April 25, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    I subscribe to Stitch This, too.

  53. Elizabeth
    April 25, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    I still prefer paper for arts/crafts books but I read novels on an iPad.

    This looks great. I’m still SUCH a beginner, it’s painful. I struggled with a simple tote bag this weekend. Argh. :)

  54. April 25, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    I have a nook but I also like reading paper books.

  55. April 25, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    I have the Kindle app on my iPad, but I still prefer real books.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  56. April 25, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    I don’t have an e-reader yet…. a paper copy would be awesome!
    Thanks

  57. April 25, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    I subscribed to the newsletter :)
    Thanks for the opportunity to win!!

  58. Renee G
    April 26, 2012 at 1:20 am

    I prefer paper books, especially if I want to read them more than once.
    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(Dot)com

  59. Alexandrea M
    April 26, 2012 at 1:36 am

    Thank you so much! For anything craft related I prefer paper books, they seem so much more romantic :)

  60. Njeri
    April 26, 2012 at 2:34 am

    From the preview, I can tell that this is a very interesting book. I prefer paper books .

  61. April 26, 2012 at 5:50 am

    Eventhough I am the biggest graft geek in my town — oldschool is the only way to go .. paper books! the smell, the feel of the paper as i turn the pages. The way i can hold it close while reading in bed.

    Yeah Im kinda sad that way – but books will always be a true love.

    thanks
    cleo

  62. Lynn Davis
    April 26, 2012 at 6:22 am

    I don’t have an e-reader – yet! I must admit that I still love the look and feel of hardcopy books – and of course they are an attractive addition to my bookshelves …

    The review of ‘Everyday Handmade’ was interesting, enhanced by the fact that the reviewer had made two of the projects. The book would make a valuable addition to my bookselves.

  63. Kathy H
    April 26, 2012 at 6:26 am

    I am simply in love with my Kindle. I never go anywhere without it! The only ‘real’ books that I buy now are for crafting only. They simply are not the same reading them on my kindle. Have an especially blessed day, Kathy

  64. Kathy H
    April 26, 2012 at 6:29 am

    I just subscribed to the Stitch This newsletter. Thanks for sharing the link!

  65. Lynn Davis
    April 26, 2012 at 6:30 am

    I’m back, & I’ve subscribed to ‘Stitch This’.

  66. Marilize
    April 26, 2012 at 6:32 am

    I love having the actual book in my hand when it comes to crafting books. I love having them lie open all around my craft room to page through when I need inspiration. I love the notes I can scribble in them as I work on projects.

    Thank you for a great giveaway :)

  67. Gil Crews
    April 26, 2012 at 7:54 am

    OMG! I am always looking for new ideas. Great book.

  68. Gil Crews
    April 26, 2012 at 7:54 am

    I signed up for the Stitch Newsletter!

  69. Fran
    April 26, 2012 at 8:22 am

    I don’t have an e-reader but I would love one. In the meantime I’m pretty happy with paper books. Thanks for the lovely giveaway.

  70. Fran
    April 26, 2012 at 8:22 am

    I signed up for the Stitch This! newsletter.

  71. Deborah
    April 26, 2012 at 8:27 am

    I like the books, I still like the ability to hold the books, and mark the pages. Old fashion I know, but I enjoy them!

  72. Deborah
    April 26, 2012 at 8:31 am

    I signed up for the newsletter – I cannot wait to see all the projects ther now and in the future! Thank you!!

  73. April 26, 2012 at 9:09 am

    I already receive the wonderful Stitch This! newsletter. Lots of fun stuff.

  74. April 26, 2012 at 9:10 am

    that book looks like it has some great projects. I am always on the look out for book like that.
    I do not use and e-reader. I would rather have a book.
    Old fashioned, I guess.

  75. April 26, 2012 at 9:11 am

    I don’t have an e-reader. I prefer good old fashioned paper books. Thanks for a chance.

  76. April 26, 2012 at 9:12 am

    we have a kindle fire and a nook color, and they are wonderful. but i still read real books and visit the library weekly too!

  77. April 26, 2012 at 9:12 am

    I subscribe!

  78. April 26, 2012 at 9:12 am

    i just subscribed!

  79. April 26, 2012 at 9:26 am

    The book looks awesome…I got a Kindle for Valentines and love it really like using the e-reader.

  80. Connie
    April 26, 2012 at 9:27 am

    Want to win …hard books please.

  81. Connie
    April 26, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I subscribed too!

  82. Marie P
    April 26, 2012 at 9:28 am

    I am still a paper-book girl, but would be open to an e-reader….Santa, are you listening? I also signed up for the newsletter. Thanks for the giveaway!

  83. April 26, 2012 at 9:29 am

    I subscribed to Martingale’s Stitch This! newsletter:)

  84. Lynda Taylor
    April 26, 2012 at 9:43 am

    This looks like a great book from which to teach my daughters to sew.
    Both the hedgehog and stump sound cute and bags are always needed! I personally need the ebook cover for sure.
    Thanks for the comp.

  85. lynn
    April 26, 2012 at 10:16 am

    paper books all the way! but i know lots of e-readers i could make a cover for!
    thanks

  86. lynn
    April 26, 2012 at 10:17 am

    i’m a new subscriber=thanks!

  87. Jennyroo
    April 26, 2012 at 10:25 am

    I think I will always prefer the look and feel of a paper book in my hands. It might not be the easiest or most practical solution sometimes, but it just feels right.

  88. April 26, 2012 at 10:27 am

    I do prefer to read books, but having said that I have just downloaded kindle on my laptop and trying that out.

  89. Sharon Scott
    April 26, 2012 at 10:35 am

    I love both. But I really like my Kindle for traveling. The cover looks like a fun project for sure! I am a new subscriber :)
    Thank you for the giveaway!

  90. Gunilla
    April 26, 2012 at 10:36 am

    I do prefer paper instead of an e-reader. There is something about the feeling of the book in your hand… Thanks for the giveaway!

  91. Misty Miskimen
    April 26, 2012 at 10:43 am

    No e-reader… yet! Got my eye on a Kindle Fire. For now, I read highly illustrated books often about bodily functions such as “poop” and “potty”! Ah, the life of a mother!

  92. Misty Miskimen
    April 26, 2012 at 10:45 am

    “Thanks for Subscribing to the Stitch This! Blog”
    Looking forward to fresh ideas & inspiration!!

  93. Anne
    April 26, 2012 at 11:20 am

    I love a beautiful book….thank you for the chance to own this one.

  94. Danielle F
    April 26, 2012 at 11:33 am

    What great project ideas! I’m a paper book kinda girl, though I can see the advantage of an e-reader for magazines, textbooks, and maybe even certain craft books. But an actual book and the smell of the pages feels so right for a novel.

  95. Jeannie D
    April 26, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Although an e-reader is tempting, I am still in love with books…love the feel of the pages and the weight in my hands. But I have many friends and family members who would love a cover!

  96. Jeannie D
    April 26, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    Got a little distracted on the site but finally made it back here to say I signed up for the newsletter on Martingales, StitchThis! Also looking forward to snooping around on Inspire Me Grey!

  97. Deb H.
    April 26, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    I don’t have an e-reader and probably won’t get one. I LOVE paper, the smell, the feel, everything about it.
    I like to write in my books and use bookmarks. So, I’m a real book person. Hope I win.

  98. Deb H.
    April 26, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    I subscribed to Stitch This!

  99. Gayle Himmelwright
    April 26, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    I don’t have an e-reader, so it’s paper for me!

  100. Gayle Himmelwright
    April 26, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    I signed up for the newsletter too. Thanks!

  101. April 26, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    I have an e-reader but only read novels on it. I like to touch a craft book or an art book with the real paper, pages to turn, corners to earmark (only when I REALLLY have to)… Thanks for the chance to win.

  102. April 26, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    I have subscribed to Martingale’s newsletter! Great giveaway – this looks like an amazing book (love the buttons on the tote!)

  103. Ellen Barth
    April 26, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    I don’t own and ereader yet, so I guess I prefer a paper book!
    I love the projects in this book!

  104. Ellen Barth
    April 26, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    I subscribed to Stitch This!

  105. Diann Cornell
    April 26, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    I prefer paper books.

  106. Diann Cornell
    April 26, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    I subscribed to the Stitch This! newsletter.

  107. marcella
    April 26, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    there is nothing like the smell of a paperback 😉

  108. marcella
    April 26, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    i just subscribed to the martingale newsletter!!

  109. Cath
    April 26, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    Nope, I haven’t joined the 21st century yet. I love my books printed on paper. I guess I’ll have to cave in eventually, but I’m not eager to go digital.

  110. Cath
    April 26, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Even though I’m not reading books in a digital format, I have signed up for Stitch This, and I love it, and looking at ideas on the internet.

  111. fenna
    April 26, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    I usually prefer regular books…But, having said that, I am ‘wanting’ an e-reader of some sort so I can take many books on the go :)

  112. KimR
    April 26, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    I have been considering purchasing an ereader–but do still love my books!

  113. KimR
    April 26, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    I already receive the newsletter!

  114. Hueisei
    April 26, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    I’d loved a paper copy. I have a craft book book shelf :)

  115. Hueisei
    April 26, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    Already got the newsletter.

  116. Connie G
    April 26, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    Wonderful give-away!! I am currently about 70% paper and 30% e-reader. Hard to give up the ease of moving through the paper version.

  117. April 27, 2012 at 12:03 am

    I do have a Kindle and I love it for casual reading but it isn’t color so I like my quilt and craft books in pulp. I do love that Kindle cover and the tote with all the covered buttons. If I win, I know what will be first to make! Thanks for the chance.

  118. April 27, 2012 at 12:05 am

    I am already a subscriber to Stitch and love it. OF course I love Martingale

  119. emilia
    April 27, 2012 at 12:52 am

    e reader coming soon!!! thanks

  120. emilia
    April 27, 2012 at 12:54 am

    I’m a Stitch subscriber. wooo hoo

  121. Beth T.
    April 27, 2012 at 1:06 am

    I just downloaded my first e-book onto my iPad, and while I like the ease of taking it with me and quickly adjusted to flipping the pages, etc., I prefer a “real” book. I’m old-fashioned in many ways, and that will always be one of them, I think.

  122. Beth T.
    April 27, 2012 at 1:17 am

    I’m a subscriber of Stitch this!

  123. Rhonda D.
    April 27, 2012 at 1:25 am

    I don’t have an e-reader. So I am a paper book person.

  124. Rhonda D.
    April 27, 2012 at 1:27 am

    I am a subscriber of Martingale’s Stitch This! newsletter.

  125. Susan
    April 27, 2012 at 2:30 am

    My favourite time to read is at bedtime. My husband would always complain about the light being on. Problem has been solved since I started reading books on my IPad. I still love the feel of a book in my hands and turning REAL pages!

  126. April 27, 2012 at 8:31 am

    I definitely prefer paper books!

  127. April 27, 2012 at 8:32 am

    I also just subscribed to the Stitch This! newsletter.

  128. April 27, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    I admit, I’m still a book junkie–I just like the feel of a book.

  129. April 27, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    I prefer paper books. Gives me more of an incentive to read them. I also like to flip through the pages and see something up close.
    Thanks for the giveaway =D

  130. Tracie
    April 27, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    Love the book!! I am in my way to subscribe to the newsletter to. Thanks for the opportunity.

  131. Lindsay
    April 27, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    Right now I prefer paper books, but I’m hoping to get an e-reader for my birthday next month.

  132. Michelle H.
    April 28, 2012 at 1:38 am

    I do own an ipad but for craft books, I prefer the real deal.

  133. Michelle H.
    April 28, 2012 at 1:39 am

    I subscribed to the newsletter

  134. Jocelyn W
    April 28, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    I prefer an ereader for novels so I can read whatever strikes my fancy but reference books need to be paper for some reason!

  135. April 28, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    I have a kindle that I love using when I travel. I do still love books though and nothing can replace my bookshelves filled with great books that look and feel great to hold.

  136. April 28, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    I subscribe to the newsletter!

  137. Gizala
    April 28, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    What a cool looking book. I like the hard copy over the ereader.

  138. raquel
    April 29, 2012 at 6:57 am

    I prefer a paperbook when it’s a wonderful book like this.

  139. Karrie Smith
    April 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    I love books. I love the way they feel, the way they smell, and if it’s a good book-the way they look. This is a good book :)

    I love technology and realize you can take an entire bookcase with you, and I love that too. I personally do not own one yet, but I am not against the idea.

  140. Karrie Smith
    April 29, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    I signed up for the newsletter. Thanks for the chance to win!!

  141. April 29, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    I love paperback…just call me old school 😉

  142. April 30, 2012 at 8:29 am

    Paper, I’m sure e-readers don’t have the same lovely smell or texture as books!

  143. Charlotte Dunning
    April 30, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    My husband has an e-reader and loves it but I still can’t go past books …. although I have a friend who uses an e-reader for reading while knitting. She says it’s great to be able to sit up in bed with her reader on her knees as she knits and not have to fight the pages of the book closing – so I can see the benefits

  144. Jamie O.
    May 1, 2012 at 6:26 am

    I still prefer the old fashioned books. I could see the appeal of an e- reader however.

  145. Jamie O.
    May 1, 2012 at 6:27 am

    I also signed up for the newsletter.

  146. Carol DeJong
    May 1, 2012 at 9:48 am

    Must have the paper/hardcover copy to swoon over, spill on, and make notes in. 😉

  147. Carol DeJong
    May 1, 2012 at 9:56 am

    I subscribed!

  148. kimberlee
    May 1, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I prefer paper. I have tried reading on an e-reader and I actually need a paper back to thumb back and forth. But I do a lot of reading on the elliptical, so I guess the ereader is more practical for that.

  149. kimberlee
    May 1, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I signed up for Martingale’s newsletter. It’s cool!

  150. Joanne
    May 1, 2012 at 11:24 am

    I just can’t get used to reading on the ereader, still prefer books.

  151. May 1, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    I prefer my kindle for books to read, but for picture books I’m still on the fence. I’ve gotten some through Google Play that I read on my pc, but I do still like them in paper.

  152. CeLynn @ The Sunflower Patch
    May 1, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    It would be very cool to have an e-reader,however since I don’t,it is paper books for me.

  153. CeLynn @ The Sunflower Patch
    May 1, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    I subscribed to Stitch This :)

  154. Erika Fodor
    May 1, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Hello, I prefer paper books.

  155. Erika Fodor
    May 1, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    I just subscribed.

  156. May 2, 2012 at 8:39 am

    I’m a very tangible person, so I prefer “real” books! :)

  157. May 2, 2012 at 8:40 am

    I just subscribed to the newsletter! Thanks for the chance at this lovely book! :)

  158. Shirley
    May 1, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    I like the real books. I would love to win this book because I hand make Christmas presents and this looks like a good book to give me ideas.

  159. Rosemary Huggins
    April 18, 2015 at 1:16 am

    As a retired English teacher – I love books but I was introduced to a Kindle on my 70th birthday by a special friend. I have found it ever so good to use to read in bed BUT I still like browsing through Craft books Paper form for enticing me to try new things to make or patterns to follow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *