Book Review + Giveaway! Quilting with a Modern Slant

 QWAMS

Today we’re excited to be a part of the Quilting with a Modern Slant blog book tour! This book was just released on January 28 by Storey publishing. It was authored by Rachel May and is 224 pages long. That includes 7 chapters covering different aspects of modern quilting including techniques, color, scale, pattern, improv designs and more.

_MG_8443

Whether you’re a beginning quilter or one with years of experience, this book is a great resource for anyone interested in learning more about the modern quilting movement. On every spread in the book you’ll find beautiful color photographs of quilts and techniques. It’s inspiring to look at just the photos alone.

_MG_8446

Inside you’ll find 9 projects with patterns and instructions and 13 tutorials. There is helpful information for new quilters like supply lists and quilt binding techniques. There’s more advanced patterns for experienced quilters and new techniques like making natural fabric dye with avocado pits.

_MG_8451

While the patterns and tutorials are interesting, the real strength of this book is in the stories and contributions of over 70 modern quilters. There were some names that were familiar to me (Rashide Coleman-Hale, Angela Walters, Denyse Schmidt, Anna Maria Horner and more) and some new ones. I’ve seen many pattern books but this is one of the few quilting books I’ve read that focuses less on patterns and more on the people behind them. 

_MG_8453

It’s fascinating to read their stories, how they became involved in quilting, their tips and tricks and more. The stories touch on other areas of quilting like creating fabric or opening a shop. While those sections are brief, they are interesting and may help you find a new area of interest to pursue.

_MG_8454

Online Quilting Class

Overall, this book is a great resource for anyone who wants to learn more about the makers of quilts. The patterns and tutorials are a bonus but the personal stories from modern quilters are what really make this book shine and bring the modern quilting community to life.

_MG_8458

If you’d like to purchase a copy of the book, visit the Quilting With a Modern Slant website for a list of online sellers.

_MG_8457

 

Giveaway

Just leave a comment below telling us what you’d like to learn about quilting (one comment per person please) to be entered to win your own copy of the book. Contest is open through Saturday, Feb. 8 at 11:59 pm EST to US and Canada residents. The winner will receive a copy of Quilting with a Modern Slant from Storey Publishing.

The winner chosen by random.org was #24, Fenna from Fabulous Home Sewn Products! Fenna, I’ve sent you an e-mail with more information!

Disclaimer: Storey publishing sent me a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All opinions are my own.

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Are you looking to start your own craft blog? Maybe you're ready to upgrade to a self-hosted Wordpress blog. After trying other hosting companies, Craft Buds proudly uses Bluehost (affiliate link) for all of our hosting needs. It's super reliable, a great value (just a few dollars a month!) and easy to install Wordpress with one click. Get started in just 5 minutes or less!

  114 comments for “Book Review + Giveaway! Quilting with a Modern Slant

  1. February 3, 2014 at 8:54 am

    My friend got this book and she just can’t say enough good things about it, she loves it and if she loves it I know I will, I need to learn a lot more about quilting, I am fairly new to the whole thing, so I have lots of stuff to learn, like how to get that perfect 1/4″ seam :)

  2. Beth
    February 3, 2014 at 8:57 am

    I have yet to make a full size quilt – any help would be appreciated!

  3. Carmen
    February 3, 2014 at 9:05 am

    I’d love to learn how to get my applique work to look a little more polished, haha. Thanks for this Monday morning eye candy!

  4. Heidi
    February 3, 2014 at 9:29 am

    Fmq is on my learning list. This book sounds great!!

  5. Keri
    February 3, 2014 at 9:46 am

    I would love tips for FMQ. It’s something I have not yet tackled.
    And I would love to read other quilters stories.

  6. February 3, 2014 at 10:04 am

    I need to work on FMQ.

  7. February 3, 2014 at 10:18 am

    FMQ and more improvisational piecing methods are on my list! Thanks for the chance to win this awesome looking book!

  8. Sandy K
    February 3, 2014 at 10:30 am

    I need to concentrate on my 1/4 inch seam allowance.

  9. Vicki H
    February 3, 2014 at 10:34 am

    I have at least 10 to 12 quilt tops needing quilting. I need to learn FMQ.

  10. February 3, 2014 at 10:50 am

    I’d like to learn more machine binding techniques. Thanks for the chance!

  11. Pattie C
    February 3, 2014 at 10:59 am

    This is the first I’ve heard of this book, it looks fantastic and I would love to get my hands on a copy.

  12. shirley tener
    February 3, 2014 at 11:08 am

    I have seen the insides of this wonderful book, What beautiful history hit has and how freely some of these artist let their desire lead them, not the rules of quilting.

  13. February 3, 2014 at 11:18 am

    Bias binding is something I really need to learn. I’m so nervous about it for no reason.

  14. Linda W.
    February 3, 2014 at 11:23 am

    I am fairly new to modern quilts but love what I see and have made! I always say I learn something new in every quilt I make. I want to learn more about how to use these gorgeous fabrics in modern designs.

  15. February 3, 2014 at 11:31 am

    as a newer quilter, I’m always interested in learning more about the history of quilting!

  16. Ann
    February 3, 2014 at 11:36 am

    I want to learn more on free motion quilting and how designers think about how the quilting enhances the piecing.

  17. February 3, 2014 at 11:47 am

    I want to learn how to break out of my color box.

  18. Delaine
    February 3, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    I would like to learn more about machine quilting. Thanks.

  19. February 3, 2014 at 12:39 pm

    I have never made a quilt so anything goes with learning how to quilt! However, something that I’d really like to learn is how to quilt the front, batting, and backing together… If you know what I mean. I think not knowing how to do that is what have been keeping me from making a quilt

  20. Trisha
    February 3, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    Nice book. Need to learn how to quilt.

  21. AmandaK@whatthebobbin
    February 3, 2014 at 12:43 pm

    I would love to learn FMQ or even better techniques for straight-line quilting. Thanks!

  22. Gina S.
    February 3, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    Everything there is to know about quilting. I don’t have anyone around me that likes to do this, so just about everything i learn from sewing was book learned or now :) blog learned.

  23. Kathy E.
    February 3, 2014 at 12:51 pm

    I am such a visual learner and this book is packed with everything I need to learn! I need to know how to line up seams and corners so it looks professional. No matter how much I measure and sew evenly, it doesn’t turn out the way I want.

  24. February 3, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    just getting into quilting and this’d be a great addition to my library :)

  25. Natasha J
    February 3, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    everything. i mean i made a quilt in highschool, but its not exactly “quilted” so i guess really its just a blanket lol

  26. February 3, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    Always playing with color, always learning about color. Modern is so about color so always want to learn more.

  27. Sarah
    February 3, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    I’d like to learn to hand quilt. And enjoy it.

  28. Becky Greene
    February 3, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    I still need to learn to conquer curved piecing! Thanks for the chance to win!

  29. Kelley H
    February 3, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    This sounds like a great book for a very new quilter like me! I want to learn tips & tricks about quilting, as well as machine and free motion quilting. I also love to hear the back stories behind quilts!

  30. Debra Phillips
    February 3, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    I’d like to work on paper piecing. I’ve watched videos and read blogs, just haven’t gotten the gumption to try it myself yet. Thx for the opportunity to win!

  31. Geni Pickens
    February 3, 2014 at 2:07 pm

    I’d love to know more about FMQ and big stitch hand quilting.

  32. February 3, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    I would love to learn more about walking foot quilting!

  33. February 3, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    everything! Lol, I am still working on my very first quilt.

  34. Beth B
    February 3, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    I want to be more confident in my fabric choices.

  35. mary ford
    February 3, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    I am fairly new at quilting and still have lots to learn. But if I had to pick one it would be making accurate cuts.

  36. lesley
    February 3, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    i am new to sewing/quilting so i need all the help i can get!!!!

  37. krysitna
    February 3, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    I would just love to perfect the quilting process. Thanks for the chance.

  38. Kylie C
    February 3, 2014 at 2:47 pm

    I’d love to learn more about which FMQ fillers I should use where in my quilts to give them a modern feel. I just feel unsure about that part of the design process.

  39. Joyce Mitchell
    February 3, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    I’m wanting to learn how to machine applique – thanks.

  40. Ellen M.
    February 3, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    I’d like to learn more about improv quilting. It looks fun and not “perfect”! Thanks!

  41. Jenny
    February 3, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    I’m determined to tackle (and conquer) free-motion quilting this year. This book looks great, thanks!

  42. Lizzy B
    February 3, 2014 at 4:13 pm

    I’m only on my second quilt so there’s a lot I’d like to learn! The next thing I want to tackle is free motion quilting.

  43. AJ
    February 3, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    I’d love to learn more about free motion quilting on my sewing machine

  44. February 3, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    I love good resource books. I go back to them time and again. I am always looking for ways to perfect my piecing and this is my year to try more new shapes like hexagons and curves.

  45. Lisa McGriff
    February 3, 2014 at 5:56 pm

    I’m so new to the world of sewing I have tons to learn. Would be a great book to have!

  46. February 3, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    I’d love to learn better binding techniques and how to hand sew binding down. But mostly learning to let go of my obsessive matchy matchy habits and to be more free with color selection.

  47. Shawn
    February 3, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    I want to learn paper piecing and modern quilting

  48. jane
    February 3, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    I have made many quilts but would love to design my own

  49. Nicole
    February 3, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    I would love to learn more about free motion quilting on a home machine! This book looks awesome!

  50. February 3, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    Wow, looks like a book that I want to own. Thanks for the chance to win a copy. Love your blog and all the inspiration you provide. I have also added your giveaway to my Wow I Like That Giveaway Round Up. You can see it at http://www.wowilikethat.com. Thanks again.

  51. Karen B
    February 3, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    This seems like a great book. I would love to get into fabric dyeing, and dyeing with avocados? I need to know!

  52. Kathy Davis
    February 3, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    I would like to learn how to quilt on my machine, or do a quilt as you go quilt. I love making quilt tops but then it is so expensive to have them quilted. Thanks, Kathy

  53. Denise F
    February 3, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    I would really like to learn more about picking out fabrics.

  54. Joan H.
    February 3, 2014 at 10:13 pm

    I would like to learn more about applique and machine quilting. The book sounds very interesting. It’s always fun to hear the personal stories of quilters.

  55. Cindy
    February 3, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    I an interested in some of the techniques they use to make modern quilts. I don’t even know the names of the techniques! I’m interested in everything modern in quilting.

  56. February 3, 2014 at 10:27 pm

    I’m thinking about trying hexies.

  57. Debra Kay Neiman
    February 3, 2014 at 11:08 pm

    I would like to know more about what modern quilting is…and FMQ on standard machine. crystalbluern at onlineok dot com

  58. Carla G
    February 4, 2014 at 12:07 am

    I want to learn to paper piece. And this book looks fabulous! :)

  59. Katie Ellis
    February 4, 2014 at 12:29 am

    I am currently trying to get better at appliqué. That’s my skill to improve for the year.

  60. Melanie C
    February 4, 2014 at 12:37 am

    I would love to create my own quilts…I tend to copy the exact same fabric in a pattern :)

  61. Jo
    February 4, 2014 at 12:47 am

    I want to learn to make my own paper pieced patterns

  62. Linda v
    February 4, 2014 at 12:54 am

    I would love to learn to use colors that are out of my comfort zone.

  63. Evelyn
    February 4, 2014 at 12:56 am

    Learning more about color coordination and contrast — that would help me a lot.

  64. Karrie Smith
    February 4, 2014 at 1:01 am

    I would love to be able to do really good FMQ. I like the book because I would like to understand a bit more about what inspires people to make “modern” quilts…

  65. February 4, 2014 at 1:41 am

    I’d love to read the stories behind the quilters. Their inspiration and passion will do more for my motivation that all the techniques (but those will help me too!)

  66. February 4, 2014 at 7:18 am

    Triangles and foundation paper piecing are at the top of my “to learn” list this year – looks like a great book! Thanks for the giveaway :-)

  67. Veronica
    February 4, 2014 at 7:41 am

    I like to learn new cutting and piecing techniques.

  68. Suzanne
    February 4, 2014 at 8:06 am

    I’d like to learn to use negative space. I have a tendency to fill it up!

  69. annabelle
    February 4, 2014 at 9:27 am

    Free motion quilting is next on my list I think.

  70. February 4, 2014 at 9:40 am

    I find that these kind of books are invaluable! Not just packed with great designs and quilts, but the information and stories are so enjoyable!
    I would love to be a better FMQ quilter…tall order for me!

  71. Hannah
    February 4, 2014 at 11:41 am

    I am a new quilter, I would love to learn about free motion quilting

  72. February 4, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    When I see the term “quilt as desired,” I let out a loud groan.” I am not comfortable with FMQ. Using patterns that do not even offer a suggestion of how to quilt the finished quilt top is frustrating. I would like to learn how to choose which quilting design would compliment a particular quilt top.

  73. Allison D
    February 4, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    I’d like to learn more about improv quilting

  74. Allison C
    February 4, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    I would like to learn more about applique

  75. Amy C
    February 4, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    Looks like my kind of book! I would love to learn how to do french seams and also to be more confident in fmq on my large quilts.

  76. February 4, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    I am a beginner, so I have so much to learn! I only know a couple techniques, and I looked at what everyone was posting about and I pretty much need or want to learn all of them! :) I still struggle lining up my blocks, but I love quilting :)

  77. Tamie
    February 4, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    So much more to learn- improv, free motion quilting, quilted bag construction, etc…

  78. February 4, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book! Thanks for putting my name in the hat for the drawing. I really need to figure out how to set up my sewing area and different projects. I’m no doing it right as I’m spending more time getting set up than sewing or even thinking about my projects!

  79. Becky in Georgia
    February 4, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    I’d love to improve my machine quilting. Thanks for the chance to win this book!

  80. Julie Lee
    February 4, 2014 at 7:59 pm

    I just started quilting and I’m working on my first quilt so I have a lot to learn. I’d love to learn how to bind a quilt!

  81. Emily C
    February 4, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    I need to learn how to paper piece. So far I just make much simpler blocks and I need to learn some new techniques.

  82. Dawn Jones
    February 4, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    I’m new to quilting so the 1/4 inch seam allowance is something I need help with.

  83. Diane
    February 4, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    Looks like a great book! I have TONS to learn but one of my biggest struggles is figuring out what design to use when it says “quilt as desired”. Thanks!

  84. Sara Nixon
    February 4, 2014 at 11:34 pm

    I’d like to learn how to quilt for myself. I always have to send them out and its pricey!

  85. Beth T.
    February 5, 2014 at 12:17 am

    I’d like to learn how to quilt using large stitches and perle cotton.

  86. Margaret
    February 5, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    I’ d like to learn about how people use color, particularly, how to they decide what colors to use together (beyond the – “use all the colors that are in your focal fabric”).

  87. Arianna M.
    February 5, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    Since I have never actually *finished* a quilt (or anything quilted), learning just about anything about actually quilting something would be helpful. Also, I would love to learn more about binding.

    • Arianna M.
      February 5, 2014 at 3:11 pm

      Why did my comment post twice? Whatever…

  88. Arianna M.
    February 5, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    Since I have never actually *finished* a quilt (or anything quilted), learning just about anything about actually quilting something would be helpful. Also, I would love to learn more about binding.

  89. February 5, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    I need to work on my fmq too. Looks like an awesome book!

  90. February 5, 2014 at 5:09 pm

    This book looks great! What a great resource of information! I would like to learn English paper piecing!

  91. February 5, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    The book looks like it is a great resource for all quilters, both new and experienced. Being a fairly new quilter I try to read as many books as I can and I especially like Modern quilting. I’d love to learn more about machine quilting, I was just practicing for the first time on a couple quilt sandwiches.

  92. February 5, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    I just love to learn about various quilters and what inspires them!

  93. February 5, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    I’d love to expand my quilting by learning EPP techniques.

  94. Linda Fleming
    February 5, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    I need some tips on doing FMQ as I have several completed quilt tops needing to be finished!

  95. Deb
    February 5, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    Most of the things I make are wonky….not because they’re supposed to be…they just are. I’d love to learn to sew accurately.

  96. Marilyn S
    February 5, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    I need help with choosing colors that play well together.

  97. Lisa Burger
    February 6, 2014 at 12:03 am

    I’d love to learn about when/how to use low volume to highlight other prints! Hope to win!

  98. Mom C
    February 6, 2014 at 12:35 am

    I really would like to take a class on color. I read the articles but it doesn’t resonate with me. Luckily, my DIL sees complementary colors so much better than I. Thanks.

  99. Dee
    February 6, 2014 at 9:48 am

    Getting an insight on designers and their ideas & tips is always helpful. I could use some help with picking out how the top should be quilted. I am also interested in the batting choice & big stitch quilting seen on some bedding.

  100. pkmegs
    February 6, 2014 at 12:26 pm

    I would like to learn more about FMQ, I have simply keep to straight lines, would like to go outside my safety zone.

  101. craftygramma
    February 6, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    I love this book! I used to have a collection of books about quilters, sewists, knitters and crafters, but they were stolen a while back. I am replacing them as money allows but it would be such a treat to have this in my budding new collection. I have sewn for 50 years but I love the modern movement, and now tend to use internet blogs / tutorials for my crafting more than my ‘old school’ methods. Thanks!

  102. AngieSue
    February 6, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    I’d love beginner tips on simple, straight-line quilting.

  103. Vanina
    February 6, 2014 at 9:52 pm

    I would love to win this book! I am learning to quilt as one of my resolutions for this year. I just made a wall hanging but I need to learn a ton more! I am very inspired by modern quilts.

  104. Suzanne
    February 7, 2014 at 1:56 am

    I’d like to learn more about how to design with negative space.

  105. February 7, 2014 at 11:59 am

    I would love to learn more about the people behind the quilts, patterns, and fabrics! what a great concept for a modern, in-the-moment history book.

  106. Lisa Marie
    February 7, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    I want to learn some beautiful FMQ designs. This book looks like fun, thanks for the chance to win.

  107. Paula
    February 8, 2014 at 12:03 am

    I want to learn how to do English Paper Piecing – I’m going to need a new handwork project soon … Thank you for the giveaway! This books looks great!

  108. Melanie
    February 8, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    I want to learn how to free-motion quilt on my regular machine. I’m terrified of it!!

  109. barbara corbitt
    February 8, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    i do all hand piecing and hand quilting and donate to charity or, if the Lord guides me, a specific individual. i need to find a quicker way to hand piece ie strip piecing. thank you for a great giveaway babscorbitt@gmail.com

  110. February 8, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    I would like to learn to piece a bit more accurately. Every quilt however brings improvement. What a delicious looking book. I want to win. Thanks for the chance.

  111. Beth B
    February 8, 2014 at 10:13 pm

    I would like to learn more about color choice.

  112. Nadine
    February 8, 2014 at 10:23 pm

    I would like to be more comfortable making quilt patterns that have curves in them and just branching out and trying new things. Color choices are difficult to me, too.

  113. Jayne
    February 10, 2014 at 12:35 am

    Pick me, pick me. Would love this book. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *