Review: Slice Fabrique Fabric Cutter

Several weeks ago, I was in touch with Making Memories about their product, the Slice Fabrique fabric cutter. I’d been following the Slice Fabrique blog and noticed that not many people were commenting, even for a giveaway! I’d heard a lot about this product, but maybe it’s because I also dabble in paper crafts, for which Making Memories is known. (Before the Fabrique, Making Memories created a Slice cutter for paper crafting.)

Slice Fabrique
Several days later, there was a box on my doorstep from Making Memories with a Slice Fabrique and two design cards, which I agreed to review. The Slice is a lightweight, cordless fabric cutter that’s about 5 inches tall, wide, and deep. It charges in the wall, and then is good for about 90 minutes of cordless cutting, according to the manual.

The Slice Fabrique starter kit comes with three replacement blades, a tiny bottle of adhesive and foam brush, three small sheets of interfacing, and a 6-inch tempered glass cutting mat. It also includes the Applique Basics design card (an SD card), which includes trees, leaves, flowers, basic shapes, and letters.

Slice Fabrique

I was also mailed the new Secret Garden Cartridge, which includes several motifs by Sandi Henderson like detailed flowers, birds on branches, and strawberries on the vine. Unlike the Accuquilt GO! Baby, which cuts basic shapes in mass quantities, the Fabrique is intended for cutting detailed fabric shapes one at a time, which is useful for applique.

Using the Fabrique:

To cut fabric with this device, you first need to iron on the included interfacing to the back of the fabric.

Iron fabric to interfacing
Next, apply adhesive (looks like white glue) to the cutting mat with a foam brush. Note: Slice also sells cans of repositionable spray adhesive, which worked much better for me than the tube of glue. I liked how the spray coated evenly and allowed me to adhere the fabric several times without having to reapply. It’s recommended to take your cutting mat outside to apply the spray adhesive.

Slice Adhesive

After the adhesive dries for a minute or two, the interfacing side of the fabric is ready to apply to the cutting mat’s sticky side. Select the design you want to cut on the Fabrique’s digital interface. Hold the Fabrique over top of the fabric and cutting mat, and gently hold in place while the cutter works. You can see the blade at work through the clear plastic base.

Online Quilting Class

I cut out several flowers, leaves, and an adorable little car from the Applique Basics design card. I was also able to use the same 5-inch square of fabric to cut out multiple shapes, like a flower and four leaves.

Basic shapes with the Fabrique

From the Secret Garden design card, I was drawn to the antique keys motif. Overall, I found that the largest size of keys (size 5), cut the best, while the smaller shapes were harder to cut without the fabric ripping. I was able to easily peel the fabric shapes off with my fingers, although their is a spatula accessory which would probably come in hand when cutting paper.

Cutting keys

After I’d cut out the many, many flowers you see above and six keys without any issues, I noticed that the edges of the cuts were not as smooth, so I decided to replace the blade.

Troubleshooting:

The biggest problem I found with this cutter is the room for user error. I found the directions for adjusting the blade depth very difficult to follow. At times, the blade wouldn’t cut through the fabric, and at other times the blade was digging so deep that it began to rip up the fabric from the adhesive. Making Memories has responded to this issue of having to manually adjust the blade by introducing the Slice Elite, an upgraded die cutter that has automatic blade adjustment. Owners of the older machines can trade-in their Slice for the new Slice Elite for a cheaper price than retail. Note: The Slice Fabrique and the Slice Elite can both cut fabric, as long as it is ironed to the fusible interfacing.

Customer Service: When Slice sent me the Fabrique, it was not working properly. I wasted all of my test strips of fabric along with all of my original interfacing and tube of adhesive trying to cut out circles, which all looked like lemons. Like the lemons, my mood was also sour. At this point, I contacted Making Memories customer service, and told them what was happening with my fabric. It turns out that the blade housing was off kilter and it wasn’t something I was doing wrong. Within a couple days, I received my new Fabrique, which worked perfectly on the first try! Making Memories was also very kind to send me some extra blades and interfacing to replace the ones I had wasted on the defunct machine.

Slice Fabrique cuts keys
At times when my cuts were not coming out, I leafed through the troubleshooting guide, and found that I had at least five possible explanations for why it wasn’t working: adjust the blade, change the blade, “home” the cutter, apply more adhesive, try different fabric, etc. Thankfully, once I received the second Fabrique, I wasn’t having these problems any more!

Slice Fabrique and repositionable adhesive

Pros:

  • Portable and lightweight fabric cutter
  • Simple to use right out of the box
  • No need to replace your cutting mat after lots of use
  • Cutting mat can go in the dishwasher
  • Clear plastic window means you can watch as it cuts
  • Able to cut detailed designs, including small windows that you couldn’t easily cut with scissors
  • Cuts fabric and paper
  • Great customer service

Cons:

  • Easy to waste fabric
  • Cuts only one shape at a time
  • Fabric can tear when cutting tiny, detailed shapes (like a keyhole)
  • Slice-brand interfacing and spray adhesive may be hard to find in craft stores
  • Room for user error and instruction manual not good for troubleshooting

Overall, I found this machine to be cute, portable and effective. Being a paper crafter, I’m excited to be able to use it to cut both fabric and paper. I would definitely use this machine to cut out shapes that are hard to cut with scissors, like stars, flowers, or these antique keys. But for basic shapes like a circle, I probably wouldn’t go to the trouble to apply the spray adhesive, apply interfacing, and cut the fabric.

The Fabrique starter kit does have everything you need to get started, but you’ll only be able to cut out about 6 shapes before you are headed to the store for more interfacing or extra adhesive. Once you get the hang of it, you’ll be able to position the Fabrique wherever you want on the fabric in order to maximize your available cutting space. The digital interface shows you exactly where in the chosen design the blade is going to start.

Antique keys pillow

I used the Slice Fabrique and Secret Garden design card to make this antique keys throw pillow, from one fat quarter of home decor fabric and three charm squares.

If you’d like to try out the Slice Fabrique for your own applique project, you’re in luck! Making Memories is giving away one of these fabric cutters as well as the new Secret Garden design card. Enter the giveaway!

 

Note: We do not sell the Slice or any accessories and we are not affiliated with the company. If you need customer service or support, please contact the Slice Crafts company.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Are you looking to start your own craft blog? Maybe you're ready to upgrade to a self-hosted Wordpress blog. After trying other hosting companies, Craft Buds proudly uses Bluehost (affiliate link) for all of our hosting needs. It's super reliable, a great value (just a few dollars a month!) and easy to install Wordpress with one click. Get started in just 5 minutes or less!

  26 comments for “Review: Slice Fabrique Fabric Cutter

  1. Shanea
    August 2, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Thanks for the detailed review.

  2. August 5, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    I do have a weakness for keys. Thanks for linking with DIY under $5!

  3. October 24, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    I’ve been researching the Fabrique for several days and I really appreciate your candor. This will be very helpful to me since I’m am a beginner at this and I want to make appliques. Again thank you.

  4. Anna Ibrahim
    February 25, 2012 at 8:11 am

    I bought the Slice with the idea of cutting felted wool into basic (circles and hearts)shapes. It doesn’t seem to be designed to cut through anything but paper or very thin cloth. It’s easy to use and if your needs are different than mine, it would probably be a nifty little item to have. Now if I could just find a simple die-cutter for felted wool.

    • Bea
      June 27, 2012 at 10:31 am

      hi
      I have used the big shot to successfully cut felted wool

      • Diane
        September 9, 2012 at 11:21 am

        Hi There, I to am looking for an easy way to cut letters out of felt whats the ‘big shot’?

  5. Sandra
    August 6, 2012 at 7:19 am

    I have just purchased a Slice Fabrique from Create and Craft UK and I’m getting frustrated with the cutting element. I am using 100% cotton and also felt, and it cuts a faint shape e.g. star, but doesn’t fully cut the shape, it has worked on a thinner cotton. I am now wasting my fusible web and material, trying to establish why it wont cut. Another problem is the user manual does not tell you clearly how to maximise/position your machine to get the most out of your fabric. Can any one help and is there ia UK customer service contact number? Thanks in advance

    • Yvonne
      September 27, 2013 at 12:11 pm

      I too have problems cutting through felt. Have you found a solution

  6. Blinki
    August 23, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Hallo Guys,
    Yesterday I bougt my Slice Fabrique an try my first project. It worked very well.
    I wachted all the videos in internet I could find.

    Sandra did you what videos as well or did you try to use the slice fabric cutter only with the smal instruction which was included?

    I’m from Germany, therefore I do not know any UK customer service contact number but I can let you know that it work well.

    Best regards
    Blinki

  7. Dianne Bolton
    December 15, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Hi I too purchased the Slice Fabrique from Create and craft primarily to cut felt for Christmas ornaments. As I want to sew them the adhesive which has to be applied to keep the felt in place makes it impossible to stitch after. Any ideas I feel as though I have wasted about £180

    • December 16, 2012 at 9:53 pm

      Hi Dianne! I’d contact Slice Customer Service, but I believe they have revamped the machine with new features. Perhaps you could explain your problem and see if they have any suggestions. Thanks for writing in!

      • chris
        July 19, 2014 at 10:46 am

        Hi Lindsey l purchased a slice fabrique fabric cutter two year ago but it has stopped working and l can’t find a contact number to get in touch to get it repaired I wonder if you can help thanking you chris

    • December 17, 2012 at 4:37 pm

      Dianne, I saw one review on Amazon.com that suggested trying Elmer’s washable glue and this Amazon reviewer recommends spray adhesive.

      Good luck!

  8. Sandra B
    December 24, 2012 at 11:33 am

    I have just bought the Slice and the appliqué disc do’s not seem to work, I can not get the blade to cut it seems to skim over the top of the material what should I do? I would be grateful for some help.

  9. kathlyn ebert
    January 2, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    I had the same problem with the basic Slice. I called customer service and talked to Lei. She had me run through a few checks on the machine to determine the sensor in the blade was faulty. She then ran through my options. I live in the USA and purchased it at Joann’s, a big box craft/fabric store.
    The http://www.whyslice.com and http://www.makingmemories.com websites are not functioning. Élan Innovation now makes the current Slice which rolls the Fabrique and Elite into one model but they also seem to be supporting the Slice Elite, too, as you can upgrade to it if your earlier model machine is not operating properly. The original Slice has no warranty now. I would suggest you go to Elan’s new Slice website and contact them via one of the phone#’s or email. That website is http://www.slicecrafts.com. Hope this helps.

  10. J Beck
    April 24, 2013 at 11:22 am

    I have a slice not the fabrique . I wonderd if you can use mine to cut out fabric and do the cards fit mine.

  11. Sue Hodgetts
    August 2, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    I have had a slice for a long time. From when they first came out. I had a lot of trouble using it and it is still temperamental. I really would like to use it to cut fabric will it do this? I have trouble cutting heav card so worry about spending all that money to just find out it doesn’t work. Any body know if you can use this older model?

    • August 6, 2013 at 8:47 pm

      Hi Sue! I don’t know if your model is able to cut fabric or not. I’d suggest contacting Slice directly to ask. Good luck!

  12. Amanda
    April 20, 2014 at 3:40 pm

    Hi, I have just purchased slice digital fabric cutter from create and craft UK, I cannot seem to cut fabric with it, I have used the slice fusible web and slice glue on the cutting mat but it just cuts the start then wrinkles the fabric and fails, does anyone else have the same problem. There are a few settings that does not seem to be explained and wondered if anyone else had changed these and could advise what works best. I am so disappointed I cannot find answers to this in slice website and as live in UK cannot find UK telephone number! Thanks in advance for any help.

    • April 29, 2014 at 10:19 pm

      Hi Amanda, My only suggestion is to try lowering the blade a little at a time and see if that works. The slice should have come with a little tool to adjust the blade height or to install a new blade. Best of luck!

  13. chris
    July 20, 2014 at 10:52 am

    Can any one tell me a telephone number or a website where l can get my slice fabrique fabric cutter repaired the ones l have tried no longer exists l would be very gratefully chris

  14. Dolly Blakney
    April 21, 2015 at 5:11 pm

    Three years ago a friend gave me her slice machine. It had been in storage for a year due to a fire.
    The battery is rechargeable but I don’t have a charger. Where can I obtain one
    or a new battery. I need to use the machine now, so I would appreciate a timely response.
    Thank you,
    Dolly Blakney

    • April 26, 2015 at 8:38 am

      Hi Dolly! We don’t sell any products and we’re not affiliated with the company that makes the Slice (this is just a review of the one we have). If you need a charger or battery, I’d try calling the manufacturer. Here’s a link to their site: http://www.slicecrafts.com/support.html

      Hope that helps! Mary

  15. Jill
    June 30, 2015 at 9:53 pm

    Is there anyway to find out what happen to slicecrafts.com. They haven’t posted on their blog or Facebook since January 2014? They seem to have fallen out of site. I have the Slice and so far works fine but hate to see it discontinued. I have also called the phone number on their website and there was only a brief message saying email for customer service but no one ever responded. So sad too because I love this little machine.

    • July 2, 2015 at 1:48 pm

      Hi Jill, we haven’t heard anything from them so I don’t know what’s happened! I found a Facebook page that was active until September 2014 but that’s all I know: https://www.facebook.com/slicecrafts. You’ll have to fill us in if you hear anything!

  16. Milqueya
    July 25, 2015 at 2:22 pm

    Hi! I have a slice elite too… I´m sorry to tell you that MM went out of business a few years ago… I´m having issues with mine and no one to contact for help… I can still craft with it though but i wish my cutter was in perfect condition, i really like its size and portability

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *